Our Fellows

Student Accommodation Hobart - Our Fellows

Our Fellows of Jane Franklin Hall

Our Fellows are academics or professionals carefully selected as senior members of the Jane Franklin Hall community. Providing professional and academic leadership, as well as social, pastoral and financial contributions, Fellows act as mentors and provide support to our students.

Each resident is assigned a Fellow relevant to their studies who they can approach for knowledge and advice whenever they need it.

Our Fellows come from a variety of backgrounds, from arts to law and medicine, theological to science. Fellows are our Jane community's most senior and distinguished members, along with Council members.

Here is the list of current Jane Fellows:


  • Mr Daniel Aitken GAICD

    Senior Marketing Manager, Museum of Old and New Art (MONA)

  • Prof Dirk Baltzly

    Professor, Philosophy, University of Tasmania

  • Dr Paul Blacklow

    Lecturer, Economics, University of Tasmania

  • Dr Gemma Blackwood

    Lecturer, Media, University of Tasmania

  • Rev Dr Lesley Borowitzka

    Minister, Anglican Parish of Channel/Cygnet

  • Prof Emeritus Michael Borowitzka

    Professor, Marine Phycology and Director of the Algae R&D Centre, Murdoch University

  • Professor Martin Grimmer

    Pro-Vice Chancellor (Academic Excellence), University of Tasmania

  • Dr Louise Grimmer

    Lecturer, Business, University of Tasmania

  • Ass. Prof Damien Holloway

    Lecturer, Engineering, University of Tasmania

  • Associate Professor Kristyn Harman

    Associate Head (Research), Humanities, University of Tasmania

  • Ms Anja Hilkemeijer

    Lecturer in Law, University of Tasmania

  • Associate Professor Damien Holloway

    Lecturer, Engineering, University of Tasmania

  • Mr Wayne Johnson

    Lawyer and Senior Manager, Tasmanian Public Service

  • Dr Toby Juliff

    Lecturer, Art, University of Tasmania

  • Dr John Kertesz

    Lecturer, Education, University of Tasmania

  • Dr Mandy Lo

    General Practitioner

  • Professor Tim McCormack FAAL

    Professor of Law

  • Professor Can Seng Ooi

    Lecturer, Social Sciences, University of Tasmania

  • Dr Delfin Sansom

    Practicing GP, specialising in skin cancer

  • Dr Mary Self

    Surgeon, Royal Hobart Hospital

  • Hon Denise Swan

    Lawyer and Politician

  • Rev. Prof. Michael Tate AO

    Priest and Politician

  • Rev Rosalind Terry

    Minister, Uniting Church

  • Dr Bryan Walpole

    Doctor, Emergency Medicine Physician

Distinguished Fellows

  • Mrs Doris Banks

    Fellow Emerita

  • Dr Adrian Blackman

    Fellow Emeritus

  • Prof David Elliot

    Fellow Emeritus

  • Dr Karla Fenton

    Fellow Emerita

  • Professor Mark Harrison

    Honorary Life Fellow

  • Mrs Libby Mercer

    Honorary Life Fellow

  • Hon. Ms. Madeleine Ogilvie


  • Dr Louise Wells

    Honorary Life Fellow

  • Mr John Panckridge

    Honorary Life Fellow

  • Dr Rosemary Dobber

    Clinical Psychologist